The Ann Richards School for Young Women Leaders

Best of the fest: Students advance in UIL film competition

in ARS News/News/Video by

The curtains are drawn, the lights go out and the 2018 UIL Young Filmmakers Festival commences at the historic Paramount Theater in downtown Austin on Wednesday, February 28, 2018. People in attendance included Media Technology teacher Mr. Roger Soden and a group of Ann Richards Media Technology students along with hundreds of other advisors and students from across Texas.

Juniors Sammie Seamon and Isabella Baladez along with senior Willow Dalehite were all finalists in the Division II Traditional (hand-drawn) Animation category. Juniors Jacky Ortega, Emi Garza, and Elly Gonzales were nominated to receive the Nobelity Social Impact Award, which recognizes films that promote social change and address social issues. This is the first year for the Social Impact Award to be presented at the UIL festival, and it is presented by the Nobelity Project and the Paramount Theatre.

Dalehite won first place in her division for her animation, titled “Sunflowers”. All of the finalist films for this year can be watched below. For all state finalist films, past and present, visit the ARS Film Vimeo page.

Sunflowers – UIL State Champion 2018

When it Rains – 2018 UIL State Finalist 

Para Mi – 2018 UIL State Finalist for Nobelity Award 

Ezra Morales is well rounded, hard working senior and Managing Editor for The Polaris Press. You can catch him running for cross country, playing soccer, or working at the craft store and Trans Student Educational Resources. He is passionate about changing the world and making schools safer for the LGBTQ+ community.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.



Latest from ARS News

Go to Top
/*#roberts-totalnum { transform-origin: 229px 596px; } #roberts-details { transform-origin: 244px 606px; } #roberts-circle { transform-origin: 244px 604px; } #collegecenter-totalnum { transform-origin: 545px 608px; } #collegecenter-details { transform-origin: 562px 614px; } #collegecenter-circle { transform-origin: 562px 614px; } #foyer-totalnum { transform-origin: 504px 315px; } #foyer-details { transform-origin: 522px 342px; } #foyer-circle { transform-origin: 521px 337px; } #library-totalnum{ transform-origin: 452px 597px; } #library-details { transform-origin: 467px 618px; } #library-circle { transform-origin: 467px 610px; }